The state of Kentucky is just over 39 thousand square miles. Within those parameters lives more than four million people. While much of the state is classified as rural, most habit "urban" cities. In 2016, there were over three million registered vehicles and almost three million registered drivers. That's over half the population.
When you consider these statistics, you should appreciate the laws in place that require drivers in Kentucky to have car insurance.
Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements
Kentucky, like many states in the U.S., requires a minimum amount of car insurance to drive a car. Failure to comply with the state laws could mean revoked license or even jail time. If you live in Kentucky, get familiar with their requirements to avoid penalties.
The bare minimum car insurance set by the state includes:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability
- $10,000 personal injury protection
It's good to note that Kentucky is a "no-fault" state. We'll talk a little more about that in a minute, but its requirements are going to look different for anyone who has just moved here.
Penalties for Not Getting Car Insurance in Kentucky
Kentuckians are required to carry proof of car insurance in the car. If you are ever pulled over for speeding or because of an accident, you will need to show the information to the police officer. Anyone who cannot produce proof of insurance is subject to a fine of up to $500 and court costs. Just to put that into perspective, court costs about $100 to $200. Not getting insured could cost you almost a thousand dollars.
Think again before trying to drive a vehicle without insurance because you are a "safe driver." Kentucky requires all insurance companies to provide the state with a list of residents who are insured. Owning a car and not appearing on this list is a red flag. The state will send you a notice asking you to confirm your insurance. You have 30 days to produce the proof. If you fail to show evidence, registration for your car will be canceled until you provide a copy of your coverage.
Additional Kentucky Driving Penalties and Offenses
It's up to drivers to stay informed about the changes in Kentucky driving laws. Police can pull you over for more than speeding or failure to yield. Here are a couple of updates to Kentucky law from Einsurance.
- Kentucky bans texting for all drivers, and there is a ban on all cell phone use (hand-held or hands-free) for novice drivers.
- Since 2012, Kentucky's seat belt law has included 15-person passenger vans.
- Kentucky law requires calling the police to the scene of any crash when there are injuries or property damage in excess of $500. If the police cannot come, a written report must be filed with the state police within ten days.
Have you been injured in a car accident in Kentucky? Call Bart Durham Injury Lawyers to learn more about the compensation you could receive.
Kentucky's No-Fault Insurance Rules
No-fault insurance means drivers must rely on their car insurance to file claims for medical and other financial losses from an accident. You aren't allowed to seek a liability claim against a driver for your injuries unless your injuries meet or surpass a threshold. Kentucky residents rely on "personal injury protection" (PIP) to cover their medical bills. As we noted above, the legal minimum requirement is $10,000. But, that amount doesn't just include the driver. PIP can go toward all passengers in the vehicle at the time of the crash.
Opting Out of No-Fault Claims in Kentucky
The car insurance system in Kentucky is a little complex. It allows drivers the option of opting out of purchasing "no-fault" insurance. When you make this decision, you are reserving the right to sue and make a liability claim against an at-fault driver. The risk of obtaining one of these policies is you, therefore, open yourself up to a lawsuit. Because of your different options, Kentucky is called a "choice no-fault" state.
Filing a Lawsuit for a Car Accident in Kentucky
With all the information available, it's easy to wonder whether or not you can seek compensation when you were injured in a car crash if you purchased no-fault insurance. The answer is yes, but's contingent on a few different aspects of the case:
- the accident resulted in at least $1,000 in medical bills, or
- the collision caused the claimant's permanent disfigurement, fracture of a weight-bearing bone; compound, compressed, or displaced fracture of any bone; any permanent injury, or any permanent loss of a body function.
These no-fault claims are only applicable to bodily injuries. If an at-fault driver damaged your vehicle, you are free to pursue a claim against the driver.
Have you been injured in a car accident in Kentucky? Call Bart Durham Injury Law today and find out if you have a case. All consultations are FREE.